The Frick Collection reopens to the public on April 17, 2025, following the multi-year renovation and enhancement of its historic Fifth Avenue home. Designed by Selldorf Architects, with executive architect Beyer Blinder Belle, the project was developed to honor the historic legacy and character of the Frick while addressing critical infrastructure and operational needs.

Boucher room
Marking the most comprehensive upgrade to the institution since its opening in 1935, the project has restored the Frick’s historic first-floor galleries and created a new suite of galleries on the second floor of the original Frick family home, welcoming the public to experience these spaces for the first time. Through the repurposing of existing space and a modest addition, the renovation and enhancement significantly expands exhibition and programmatic spaces, including new special exhibition galleries on the museum’s first floor, the Frick’s first dedicated education rooms, and a new 218-seat auditorium.

Auditorium
The project also included the restoration of the 70th Street Garden, now visible from multiple new vantage points throughout the building. Major infrastructure upgrades, improvements to overall accessibility, and new public amenities and back-of-house facilities—notable among them, the creation of advanced art and library conservation facilities—ensure the Frick’s vibrancy for decades to come. The Frick Art Research Library and its refurbished reading rooms reopen concurrently with the museum, with new entry points that enable a seamless integration of the institution’s two branches.

Library

Ceramic Room
The reopening of the Frick invites visitors to experience the museum’s collection anew, with its iconic masterworks reinstalled in restored galleries on the first floor and smaller-scale paintings, sculptures, and decorative objects on view throughout its newly opened second floor. In addition, the Frick’s inaugural season features a slate of special installations and public programs, including a special commission of porcelain plants and flowers by sculptor Vladimir Kanevsky, a presentation that pays homage to the floral arrangements made for the Frick’s original opening in 1935. In late April, the Frick inaugurates the Stephen A. Schwarzman Auditorium with a music festival featuring both classical and contemporary works. And, in June, the museum’s new first-floor special exhibition galleries debut with Vermeer’s Love Letters, which continues the Frick’s tradition of focused presentations that re-examine masterworks from the permanent collection.